Religious Leadership

The Liberal Jewish community of Luxembourg as you see it today is only possible thanks to the constant strength, unwavering support, and the vision of some of the many people who have dedicated so much time into helping us grow and guiding us.

Rabbi Alexander Grodensky

Rabbi Alexander was born in Dushanbe, Tajikistan and grew up in the Russian North. In 2015 he graduated from Abraham Geiger College in Berlin-Potsdam with a rabbinic ordination and from the University of Potsdam with a Master of Arts in Jewish Studies. Before joining Abraham Geiger College Rabbi Alexander studied in different yeshivot in Russia and Israel and was a fellow at Paideia – The European Institute for Jewish Studies in Stockholm. During his rabbinic training he worked as a rabbinic intern in Hamburg, Vienna and Ridgewood, New Jersey.

Rabbi Alexander is a board member of the European Rabbinic Assembly as well as a member of the Central Conference of American Rabbis (CCAR), the principal organisation of liberal rabbis worldwide, and of the General Rabbinical Conference of Germany (Allgemeine Rabbinerkonferenz Deutschland – ARK).

Rabbi Alexander is actively involved in inter-religious dialogue in Luxembourg and Europe-wide.

In addition to his rabbinic training and Jewish Studies Rabbi Alexander holds graduate degrees in Public Administration from the Russian Presidential Academy of Public Administration in St. Petersburg and in Management from Lauder Business School in Vienna.

In his spare time he enjoys sports, reading and spending time with friends and family. He is married to Isak Schneider.

You can email Rabbi Alexander at rabbi[at]

Please, ensure that you include your name and a phone number, if you would like the rabbi to get back to you. Rabbi Alexander is fluent in English, German and Russian.

Rabbi’s Office Hours:

Rabbi Alexander is on Semi-Sabbatical until 4 April 2022.

During the semi-sabbatical the rabbi is in home office on Thursdays.

Regular office hours from 4 April 2022:

Sunday through Friday 11:00-19:00, day off: Tuesday.

We ask that you do not call on Shabbat and Jewish Holidays.

Previous Rabbis

Rabbi Nathan Alfred

Rabbi Nathan Alfred is a British-Israeli Reform rabbi. He grew up in Bromley Reform Synagogue in Kent, where he celebrated his bar mitzvah, taught in the Sunday School and sang in the choir.

Rabbi Nathan read Classics at King’s College, Cambridge, before moving to Budapest to play and study chess. There he became involved in the Szim Salom community, where he acted as chazzan and youth leader. He studied for the rabbinate at Leo Baeck College in London – including a year at Hebrew Union College and the Conservative Yeshiva in Jerusalem – and received semicha (rabbinic ordination) in 2008.

Rabbi Nathan has worked for Jewish communities all over Europe, including Beit Warszawa in Poland, Nottingham Liberal Synagogue and the International Jewish Center in Brussels. He was founder and co-ordinator of EuroJews and, between 2003 and 2009, and ran fifteen events bringing young adults together in different European cities.

From 2009-2015 he worked as rabbi in Esch-Sur-Alzette, and oversaw our synagogue’s transformation into a vibrant and liberal community.

He then spent five years based in Singapore working for the United Hebrew Congregation, and building up small communities across South East Asia.

In 2020 he made aliyah and is now to be found living in Jerusalem.

Grand Rabbis of Luxembourg

Until 2008, our community was under the authority of the Grand Rabbis of Luxembourg:

Rabbi Dr. phil. Samuel Hirsch (1843 – 1866)
Rabbi Michel Sopher (1867 – 1871)
Rabbi Dr. phil. Isaac Blumenstein (1871 – 1903)
Rabbi Dr. phil. Samuel Fuchs (1904 – 1928)
Rabbi Dr. phil. Robert Serebrenik (1929 – 1941)
Rabbi Dr. phil. Joseph J. Kratzenstein (1946 – 1948)
Rabbi Dr. phil. Charles Lehrmann (1950 – 1958)
Rabbi Dr. phil. Emmanuel Bulz (1958 – 1990)
Rabbi Joseph Sayagh [Grand Rabbi of Luxembourg until 2011] (1990-2008)

Previous Ministers

Mr. Feldmann (1900 – 1909)
Mr. Bass (1909 – 1915)
Mr. Katz (1915 – 1917)
Mr. Moritz Rosenbaum (1915 – 1923)
Mr. Julius Levy (1923 – 1937)
Mr. Walter Hertz (1939 – 1940)
Mr. Moïse Hoffmann (1953 – 1971)
Mr. David Rothschild (1972 – 1973)
Mr. Victor Portal (1992 – 2008)